The Road to 100 Miles: (not) Trusting the Process

Hitting the peak

The Nomad Athlete
3 min readMay 5, 2023
Photo by Brian Erickson on Unsplash

This is the third article in my 100-mile race series, you can find the first article here and the second article here.

Just finished the peak week of training. Now it’s time to taper.

I’m super happy and beyond grateful that everything has gone well and I’ve been able to stay away from injuries.

At one point, I started doubting the training plan I’d made. I felt like it wasn’t enough. And I’m a big fan of this quote:

Cry in training, laugh in battle

I rather suffer a few more days in training, if that makes the race itself less painful. I do know that no matter how much I would train, it will be painful.

The thing is, I actually have no clue how much I should run. Up to this point, it has been kind of easy.

For all previous races, doing somewhere between 2/3 and 3/4 of the distance has been enough to make me feel confident about the race. So for my first marathon, my longest run was 33km. For the 86km race, my longest run was 50km.

Now, I can’t really do that. I have to look at it on a weekly level.

Adjustments

--

--

The Nomad Athlete

Endurance athlete, digital nomad, nerd. Just a normal guy trying to figure out fitness, business, and life. https://thenomadathlete.gumroad.com/l/abetterlife