The Road to 100 Miles: A Follow-Up on My Training and Progress

Adapting my plan, and preparing for the ultimate endurance challenge

The Nomad Athlete
3 min readMar 6, 2023
Photo by Hendrik Morkel on Unsplash

This is the second article in my 100-mile race series, you can find the first article here.

Overall update

We’re currently pretty much halfway into the training. We’re starting to get into those uncomfortable distances.

But so far, everything has gone well.

Adjusting the training plan

In my initial plan, I had the long run on Fridays. Due to some personal- and work-related changes, I moved that to Saturdays. Just moving all workouts one day, so my rest day is on Monday instead of Sunday.

I mentioned in the previous article that I was thinking of switching the Tuesday easy run with the Wednesday intervals + leg strength training, which I did. I think running on tired legs the day after the intervals and leg strength is beneficial, I also think it is better for recovery.

My current weekly schedule looks like this:

  • Monday: Rest day (gym)
  • Tuesday: Training run + gym
  • Wednesday: Interval run + leg strength (gym)

--

--

The Nomad Athlete

Endurance athlete, digital nomad, nerd. Just a normal guy trying to figure out fitness, business, and life. https://thenomadathlete.gumroad.com/l/abetterlife