I signed up for my first 100-mile race

See my process for achieving this goal

The Nomad Athlete
3 min readDec 24, 2022
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

This is a series of articles covering my process of completing my first 100-mile race.

In this article, I’m covering the first step. Setting the goal, choosing the race, and setting up a training plan.

Setting the goal

Ever since I started my endurance journey, I’ve had some specific races/distances I wanted to do. I’ve currently completed: a marathon, Ironman 70.3, Ironman 140.6, and a 50-mile ultramarathon.

I had two things on my list that I still haven’t done: a 100-mile ultramarathon and a sub-3-hour marathon.

Because I did the 50-mile race in 2022, the training and the mindset are still pretty fresh in my mind. That’s why I think it makes more sense to tackle the 100-mile race goal first.

Choosing the race

I wanted to do a race in any of the Nordic countries. I love the nature there, and I’m used to the terrain. I googled races for 2023, and pretty quickly I decided to do the same race as in 2022, Nuts Karhunkierros.

The main reason I picked that race is that it’s at the end of May, which means that it won’t be too hot. That also allows me to enjoy the summer, instead of running for…

--

--

The Nomad Athlete

Endurance athlete, digital nomad, nerd. Just a normal guy trying to figure out fitness, business, and life. https://thenomadathlete.gumroad.com/l/abetterlife