How endurance training changed me as a partner

The Nomad Athlete
3 min readFeb 6, 2023
Photo by Chander R on Unsplash

After ending a failed relationship, I’m trying to analyze as many things as I can. To learn and be better.

One thing I started thinking about was how endurance training changed my mindset, in this case when it comes to relationships. Comparing that to my non-endurance athlete ex.

And to be clear, this is not about bashing my ex. She’s a wonderful person. I’m just using our differences to show you how my mindset has shifted because of endurance training. Before, I pretty much had the same mindset as her.

Obviously, it isn’t as black and white as I might make it sound here. Other life experiences play a big role as well. Still, it’s interesting to reflect on.

Marathon Mindset

We had different views in our relationship. We were from opposite sides of the globe, so naturally, we had different views on a lot of things. We handle things differently, etc.

For me, that’s not a problem. My marathon mentality knows that a relationship requires work. Effort. Putting in the work every day.

I know that being with someone for the rest of my life won’t always be like a Disney movie. There will be rough days. Therefore, I want to be with someone who also knows the importance of putting in a little effort every day and…

--

--

The Nomad Athlete

Endurance athlete, digital nomad, nerd. Just a normal guy trying to figure out fitness, business, and life. https://thenomadathlete.gumroad.com/l/abetterlife